Dungeons & Dragons: The Rise of the Indie Author

Chris Fox Writes

I discovered D&D when I was six. Several older kids were hunched around books and dice at a corner table in the library. I was fascinated and asked to join, but they told me I was too young. It was one of the best things that’s ever happened to me.

See, I don’t deal well with being told I can’t do something. It brings out that competitive streak, and I’ll move heaven and earth to prove someone wrong. In this case it took me four more years. I saved up my allowance, then got a paper route without asking my parents. They were furious when they found out, but allowed me to keep it.

basic13thEvery dime went to one of two places. Fantasy novels, or D&D books. I started with the red basic set and cajoled three of my friends into playing. We were instantly hooked. Years passed and faces changed…

View original post 303 more words

